About Us


Lynx House was founded in Amherst, Massachusetts, in 1975 by Christopher Howell, David Lyon, and Helena Minton. Between 1975 and 1990, Lynx House published books by Don Hendrie Jr., Valerie Martin, Yusef Komunyakaa, Floyce Alexander, Ray Amorosi, Margaret Robison, Jeff Walker, Jenne Andrews, Robert Hahn, and Philip Garrison, among others. 

Christopher Howell became sole editor in 1990, after which the press published books by, Fred Pfeil, Patricia Goedicke, Vern Rutsala, Earl Ganz, Madeline DeFrees, James Grabill, Carlos Reyes, Carol Oles, Bill Tremblay, Robert Abel, Gary Fincke, Joyce Thompson, John Hodgen, Carolyn Miller, Domenic Stansberry, William Michael Ryan, Anthony Robbins and many others.  The press moved to its present Spokane, Washington, location in 1996. 

In 1997, Howell initiated the Blue Lynx prize competition, a national poetry contest offering a $2000 cash prize and publication.  Winners included Carolyne Wright, Robert Gregory, Lisa Beskin, Lynne Burris Butler, Doren Robbins, Miguel Murphy, Jim Daniels, Julie Gamberg, Randal Watson, Jorn Ake, and Arianne Zwartjes.